Committee Members 2019

President – Vikram Varma

Vikram is a keen badminton player and administrator. He represented ACT in badminton as a junior and now competes in master’s tournaments across Australia and overseas. He has chaired School Boards, led a not-for-profit organisation in Canberra and been a badminton committee member and club representative over the past 10 years. Vikram has a Bachelor of Engineering and a Master’s in Business Administration and has held senior positions in government and the private sector. He currently works as an independent consultant enabling organisations to ‘transform to perform’ through improved governance and implementation.

Contact details:

Vice-President – Alan Kisbee

Alan is a badminton player who enjoys entering local and interstate competitions. Alan was raised in Adelaide where he first learned to play at the ripe old age of 10. He started competing in weekly club competitions at 16 something he is keen to try to start up in Canberra. After moving to Canberra in 1990 he tried other competitive sports like Indoor Cricket and Paintball, before going back to playing badminton in 2000. With age comes responsibilities and the ability to compete in veterans and master’s competitions. After seeing how well ACT teams do in veteran’s competitions, he volunteered for the Vice President role in an attempt to give something back to the local badminton community and reinvigorate social competitive play in the ACT. Alan currently works for the Australian Taxation Office as an IT Architect.

Contact details:

Secretary – Robynne Mah

Robynne started playing badminton at a very young age, competing in interschool tournaments as a teenager in Malaysia. She now enjoys playing socially at badminton clubs in Canberra. Robynne is a Chartered Accountant working in Assurance and Advisory at Deloitte Canberra.

Contact details:

Treasurer – Raymond Kan

Raymond always enjoys playing badminton socially with his friends. He played in the school team when he was young and continued playing for a number of years socially before he migrated to Australia.  Raymond is currently working as an audit director at Deloitte Canberra Office.  He has extensive experience in the field of auditing and advisory services for both private and public sector entities.  Raymond’s other interests include social soccer and painting.

Contact details:

 Match Secretary – Brideen Allen

Brideen returned to playing badminton around 11 years ago and has been an ACTBA Committee member since 2010.  Prior to this Brideen held committee positions for Lanyon Little Athletics, ACT Little Athletics, and was a Board Director for St Mary McKillop Catholic College.  Brideen works for the Australian Government in social policy, and tries to play in veteran comps when she can.  She represented NSW as a junior and is currently active as a nationally certificated line judge who has officiated at the 2017 Sudirman Cup, the 2018 Commonwealth Games, the Australian Badminton Open since 2012, and at the first Australian Para-badminton International and Oceania Championships in November 2018.

Contact details:

President Vikram Varma
Vice President Alan Kisbee
Secretary Robynne Mah
Treasurer Raymond Kan
Match Secretary Brideen Allen
General Committee Members Steven Huynh
Bas Gintings
Aaron Chuah
Sheehan Lim
Zeya Winn
Olaf Oschuermann
Auditor Phil Charley